L’oreal–UNESCO Fellowship for Sub-Saharan women in science


The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Sub-Saharan Africa Fellowships aims to promote and encourage young African women in science. This program identifies and rewards talented young female scientists in the field of Life Sciences (such as biology, biochemistry, biophysics, genetics, physiology, neurosciences, bio-technologies, ecology and ethology) as well as Physical Sciences (such as physics, chemistry, petroleum engineering, mathematics, engineering sciences, information sciences, and earth and universe sciences). The Program honors every year, 14 talented African women for the quality of their research and encourages them to pursue a brilliant career in science in any Sub-Saharan African country

BENEFITS 12 Fellowships of € 5,000 each, will be granted to 12 African Ph.D. Students enrolled in an African University. - 2 Fellowships of € 10,000 each, will be granted to 2 African postdoctoral researchers working in a laboratory or research institute registered in one of the region’s countries


- Having obtained Ph.D. degree in Life or Physical Sciences or pursuing studies leading to a Ph.D. degree

- Having the nationality of a Sub-Saharan African country

- Working in a Research Laboratory or Institution in one of the region’s countries or being enrolled in a doctoral program at a University in Sub-Saharan Africa

- Candidates must be no more than 40 years old by the end of the application period for PhD and not more than 45 years for Post-doctoral Fellowships.

Selection Criteria

The selection criteria of the candidate by the jury are the following:

- The candidate’s outstanding academic records (including number, quality and impact of the publications (impact factors to be submitted), conference presentations, patents…)

- The scientific quality of the research project

- The innovative nature and productivity of the research and its potential application in science

- The ability of the candidate to communicate and promote sciences to a younger audience and to encourage young African female scientists.

- The candidate’s career-path


South Africa Angola Benin Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Cameroon Cape Verde Central African Republic Comoros Congo Côte d'Ivoire Djibouti Eritrea Ethiopia Gabon Gambia Ghana Guinea Equatorial Guinea Guinea-Bissau Kenya Lesotho Liberia Madagascar Malawi Mali Mauritius Mauritania Mozambique Namibia Níger Nigeria Uganda Democratic Republic of the Congo Rwanda Sao Tomé & Principe Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Somalia Sudan South Sudan Swaziland Tanzania Chad Togo, Zambia,Zimbabwe